top of page

What does adventure mean to you?

Adventure is defined by many people with similar results... An experience that generally is resulted from hazardous or dangerous action into an unknown situation. Either way, we have all prescribed to this ideology at least once in our lives. My motto: "I'll try anything twice!" or "don't threaten me with a good time!".


Adventure to me is finding the spirit within that pushes us further. It's hard. Several elements have to align. I often try like hell to organize some adventure only to have life get into the way. Then, unexpectedly, I end up in another adventure with no preparation whatsoever. As for Me, As I stated above; I have to push myself. either physically, mentally or spiritually. No no. I am not crazy. What I mean by spiritually, is that I have to find the moment that captures or draws me in. The excitement rushing over you like the normal day to day fades out and you are encased at the moment. Living in it.



I've pondered. What lit that fire? Was there a specific moment in my life early on that triggered that event? I look at my daughter. She's 11 now and has a huge sense of adventure. I go near the camping trailer and she's prodding for the next outing. And with her, I have no idea what triggered it or what drives her. Is it her way to connect with Dad mutually or is it her spirit of adventure? I do look back on the first real outing with her. I just purchased the roof Top tent for my rover and we headed out to the mountains. It was her first real trip with no amenities. Dispersed camping. We drove up 15-20 miles into the backcountry along a narrow mountain pass to a clearing in the woods. We had 2 friends along for the night, Eddie and Natasha with their dogs. Makayla seems distracted with all of the new. New place, new friends, and new camping. She was out of her comfort zone. Yet, she adapted. She assigned herself specific chores. She made the beds in the tent and helped with dishes.



Driving down the mountain the day after was sobering. Had I not taken her there, would this curiosity for the unknown exist? Does this translate to another area of her life? Maybe its a confidence builder or helps her cope with anxiety in her life.


I write this to gain insight. Comment below and let me know what adventure means to you?


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page